Author Spotlight – Abi Aiken

It was the beautiful cover of His Go-To Girl, Abi Aiken’s first release, that caught my eye and I’ve invited my fellow Aussie over to the Cheeky Side today.

Who would play you in your telemovie?

His Go-To Girl

Jennifer Lawrence is my girl-crush du jour. Okay, so the characters she plays are way more kick-ass than I’ve ever been, but those cheekbones! And that mouth! I’d be kissing myself all day and all night if I looked like her. Lol! TMI?

Not at all! Who would play your (real or imagined) significant other?

Matthew McConaughey for sure! And it wouldn’t be just for his delicious bod, but for those lovely southern manners and accent. He’s a total swoonbag!

What are two words that you would/wouldn’t use to describe you?

Words I would use? I’d probably opt for “happy” and “honest”. Words I wouldn’t use? Lol, I’d have to say “tall” and “organised”!

You wake up in the body of the opposite sex. What’s the first thing you do?

This might be a bit weird, but I think I’d hum a really low note. As low as I could get it. I adore the way it feels from the outside and I’d love to know how it feels from the inside.

Then I’d scratch my balls to see what all the fuss is about!

LOL! Best pickup line, you’ve had used on you, used yourself or for a character?

It’s not so much a pickup line as a pickup action. One of the stories I’m working on at the moment has my two main characters meeting by chance when the guy accidentally ploughs face-first into the woman’s (clothed) butt! I wrote that bit a while ago but I still giggle when I think about it!

If you could be any character in a book, which would it be? Why?

Oh, how could I go past Katniss Everdeen? I’d love to be so cool and able in the real world!

If you could live in a story for one day, which would it be? Why?

Well, I might want to be Katniss, but I’ll have to change things up here and definitely NOT say “The Hunger Games”! I suppose I’d be fascinated to live for a day on Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. I don’t think I’d mind which story, but perhaps “Guards, Guards” so I might stand a chance of running into the dishy-sounding Carrot!

World’s sexiest man past or present according to you?

Oh that’s such a hard question! But if I have to narrow it down to one, then I’d choose Henry Rollins. He has such a range of talents and such charisma, and he really stands behind everything he says. Plus I’m a sucker for a square-jawed older man!

If you could meet one author living or dead, who would it be?

I know this is boring, but I’d say J.K. Rowling. She’s an inspiration.

Must have thing when writing?

OMG, I am sooo boring, but it would just have to be coffee! And plenty of it!

Me too! Thanks for Walking on the Cheeky Side Abi!

About Abi Aiken:

Abi Aiken is a youngish latte-swilling movie-lover with fewer secrets than you might think. As an only child, she found the best way to have conversations (and win arguments) was to play all the parts herself. So she wrote her first story at the age of 12 and it felt so much like coming home that she never left. She believes most of her problems can be solved by Midori and lemonade.

His Go-To Girl Blurb:

Channary Kee has been best friends with Daniel Garrett since the fourth grade. Now sharing a house, that friendship has grown into a beautiful romantic love.

For one of them.

Even with her genius level IQ, Channary can’t find a way to tell her housemate how she feels. And when a new love interest steals Daniel’s attention away, it seems all is lost.

Can Channary win back Daniel’s attention and turn it into love? Or will her efforts shatter their long friendship, leaving her with nothing?

Available from Excessica | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | ARe

EXCERPT: 

With my back to him, I held my breath and closed my eyes. I felt the heat of his body all over me as he stepped up close and swept my hair into his hand. A moment later I felt soft bristles gushing through my voluminous black mane.

“Daniel, what’re you doing?”

“Making peace.”

Oh hell, it felt good. The man of my dreams running a brush – and his fingers – through my hair. It was so unexpected and disarmingly intimate. His voice rumbling so close to my ear played havoc with my knees.

“I noticed you were struggling with that old brush. Hair like yours deserves special treatment.”

Not for the first time I was utterly confused. What kind of straight man gives great hair without wanting great head in return? Or notices a girl struggling with anything other than her underwear?

He stopped brushing and moved in front of me. “So I got you this.”

“Oh, Daniel. Is that silver?”

“Silver plated. And the bristles are boar-hair. That’s supposed to be good, right?”

“How did you afford it?”

“Sold your kidneys.”

“Oh. That’s why you didn’t get me the beer.”

His laughter was like music to me.

“I surrender. But one day, brain-strain, mark my words: I will have all the answers and you will be speechless!”

I cradled the brush like it was a kitten. Receiving a gift from Daniel would be reason enough for me to be tingling inside. But a gift with such thought behind it was almost heavenly.

“So we’re good now? Peace is restored?”

I couldn’t help myself. I swept him into a hug that doubtless meant a whole lot more to me than it did to him. He returned it strongly, though, so I just took whatever I could get. With my ear to his chest I could hear his heartbeat, and it suited me to think it was pounding with desire.